Murder-Suicides of Late…

I have been reading three stories that speak of these trying times. People represented from three different family aspects in life and the result ends with a murder or murder-suicide. Sadly one of the stores I read in this matter impacted a Facebook friend’s cousin of hers in Ohio who shot his wife (in front of his child who had to call 911 and say that). They were dealing with a bitter divorce. Another story was a man in Baltimore, MD that shot up his family and himself . Yet another story I read involved a single mom who was a psychiatrists in suburbuan DC (Montogomery County, MD) raising an autistic son, battling Montgomery County school on the schooling of her son and was having a hard time dealing with it, along with her financial struggles and shot herself and her son .

Our society and it’s trials and tribulations are getting to people in the worse kind of way. I don’t know what I or anyone else can do to reach out to someone at their wits end in life to take that dramatic finality to it all. If I ever did suspect someting out of the ordinary on someone online or someone in person of behavior I found disturbing and/or they are talking suicidal thoughts I pray God supplies me with the heart to help me find the words to reach out to them. I don’t want preach a Sunday sermon to them. That isn’t going to solve anything! I just want to reach out the best way I can to offer some kind of voice of reason and encouraging words to stop them from something there is no turning back from!

I went into Bible Gateway and put in the word encouragement to see what scripture I could find to tie in with my thoughts. As an Imperfect Christian I am familiar with some scripture but I am not a bibleologist BY NO MEANS!! But I happen to have come across this great scripture to fit well with what I hope I can do.

Romans 12:8
New International Version (NIV)

8 if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead,[a] do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully.

Leave a Reply

